English

charles.full._ROD6334
Trust – 2016 – (crédit photo : Rod MacIvor)

The artistic preoccupations of composer, musician and performer Charles Quevillon center on the contrasts between nature and urban life and the ritualization of sound and movement performance. He has studied six years at the Conservatoire de Musique de Montréal where he obtained his « Prix avec distinction » in composition. For seven years he has collaborated with choreographer Tedd Robinson on 21 projects including 5 hour long works in which he himself performs (Fable (2011)Room with sticks (2013), The 60 dancer project (2014), FACETS (2015) and TRUST (2016). He has performed those works in Canada’s biggest dance festivals (FTA, VIDF, CDF). In 2011, he was also nominated for a Dora Award for outstanding sound design for Robinson’s Sticks.

IMG_4137
Locustes – 2011 – (crédit photo : Caroline Campeau)

Through this extensive collaboration, he has discovered a passion for movement and performs many of his own works himself, such as Corde à Vide, composed for a suspended musician at the center of a chime of plucked-string instruments. His holistic and multidisciplinary approach to composition has brought him to work with ensemble and musician that are also redefining music performance like Soundinitiative ensemble, the duet Altra Voce, Magnitude 6, Totems Contemporains et Émilie Girard-Charest.

EGG_shaker_
Monsioeufs – 2014 – (crédit photo : Lou Scamble)

Moreover, he is very interested in musical creation for young audience. In 2016 he worked in collaboration with the NEM and Codes d’accès in a creative project with Jeanne-Leber school. He also works with Yves Daoust on the Fonofone, an iPad application dedicated to sound exploration for kids.

In 2016, he went for a three months residency in Tokyo Wonder Site to study butoh dancing with Yoshito Ohno and to begin the creation of a 90 minutes opera about love and the life in a Zen monastery.

_MG_0842
Corde à Vide – 2013 – (crédit photo : Anne-Marie Amyot)

This year, he composed an album of experimental songs on the theme of the perception of consciousness and the senses that will be published as a cassette under Montreal-based label Jeunesse Cosmique.

Charles Quevillon is Artistic Associate with 10 Gates Dancing inc.

Publicités

Bio

charles.full._ROD6334
Trust – 2016 – (crédit photo : Rod MacIvor)

Au coeur des préoccupations artistiques du compositeur, musicien et performeur Charles Quevillon se situent les contrastes entre nature et ville ainsi que la ritualisation de la performance musicale. Il a étudié six ans au Conservatoire de Musique de Montréal où il a obtenu son Prix avec distinction en composition. Depuis les sept dernières années, il collabore avec le chorégraphe Tedd Robinson avec qui il a produit 21 projets dont cinq d’entre eux sont d’une durée de 1 heure (Fable (2011), Room with sticks (2013), The 60 dancer project (2014), FACETS (2015) et TRUST (2016). Il a lui-même performé dans ces oeuvres comme musicien et danseur dans les festivals de danse les plus importants au Canada (FTA, VIDF, CDF). En 2011, il a été nominé pour un Dora Award pour Outstanding Sound design pour la pièce Sticks.

IMG_4137
Locustes – 2011 – (crédit photo : Caroline Campeau)

À travers cette collaboration unique, il s’est découvert une passion pour le mouvement qui l’a amenée à créer et performer ses propres oeuvres tel que Corde à Videcomposée pour un instrumentiste suspendu au centre d’un carillon d’instrument à cordes pincées. Cette approche holistique et pluridisciplinaire de la composition l’a conduit à collaborer avec plusieurs musiciens qui osent redéfinir le cadre de la performance musicale tel que l’ensemble Soundinitiative, le duo Altra Voce (Montréal), Magnitude 6, Totems Contemporains et Émilie Girard-Charest.

EGG_shaker_
Monsioeufs – 2014 – (crédit photo : Lou Scamble)

Par ailleurs, il est aussi très intéressé par la création musicale avec des jeunes. En 2016, il a travaillé en collaboration avec le NEM et Codes d’accès dans un projet de création sonore avec l’école primaire Jeanne-Leber. De plus, il travaille actuellement avec Yves Daoust sur le Fonofone, une application pour iPad dédiée à la création sonore chez les jeunes.

En 2016, il est allé trois mois au Japon pour une résidence au Tokyo Wonder Site dans le but d’étudier la danse butoh avec Yoshito Ohno, mais surtout d’entamer la création d’un opéra de 90 minutes portant sur l’amour et la vie dans un monastère zen.

_MG_0842
Corde à Vide – 2013 – (crédit photo : Anne-Marie Amyot)

Cette année, il a composé un album de chansons expérimentales sur les thèmes de la perception, la conscience et les sens qui sera publié sous forme d’une cassette avec l’étiquette Montréalaise Jeunesse Cosmique.

Charles Quevillon est Artiste Associé avec la compagnie 10 Gates Dancing inc.

Publicités